Teacher Meg Norris to Her Students: “I Love You and Believe in You”

#stopcommoncore

Diane Ravitch's blog

Meg Norris was a seventh-grade teacher in Georgia who left teaching because she no longer believed in what she was mandated to do. She saw her students struggling with the Common Core standards. She believed that they were written in ways that were far beyond the students’ understanding.

This is the letter that Meg Norris wrote to her students and which she posted online for all to read and share:

To My Students,

I did not return to the classroom this year and I want to apologize.  I am truly sorry for having left you.  It was the hardest decisions I have ever made. I want you to understand why I left.  It had nothing to do with you.  I still love you and believe in you.  You are still amazing and you can do anything you want to do.  I did not give up on you.  I left to…

View original post 1,085 more words

About brickwalls2

https://twitter.com/#!/bluelineUSA https://www.facebook.com/blueline.usa
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

